Newborn photography with the Fuji X-Pro 1

Fuji_newborn_35mm

I can’t say enough just how much I love my Fuji X-Pro 1.  It is just a beautiful camera that feels wonderful and a bit old school in my hands.  It reminds me of the 1st 35 mm camera I ever used (it was my dad’s).  I will admit though that it has taken me some time to really get use to this camera system but the pain has all been worth it.  I originally bought it to see if I could use it as a back up system for my main Canon gear since I would prefer to have the Fuji around for more of my personal work and hoped it could pull double duty in that department.  So far I have tested it out on  landscapes and head shots and it has done WONDERFUL!….. so I thought I’d give it a go at newborn photography.  Again thinking if I needed to use this as a back up system, would I be able to do all that I needed with this small mirrorless camera and the 35 mm lens and 60 mm macro lens.  Well it handled beautifully!  The 35 mm was a rock star!  Produces beautiful images straight out of camera.  I used the 60 mm as well for some up close baby features and it did very well but it was a bit hard to nail that focus (I find that macro lenses in general are hard because you have to manually focus for the best results).  Here are some of the images from my session 🙂  If I had to complain- it certainly does not focus as fast as the DSLR system and there is still a lag between images that could drive you a bit crazy if you were trying to photograph fast moving toddlers.
Fuji_newborn_35mm_color Fuji_newborn_60mm

This is an image straight out of camera:

original

Leave a Reply

